Shiners Dun Juan won the NRCHA Snaffle Bit Futurity and $100,000 on Sunday, with a composite score of 657.5 points under Todd Bergen. Moomstruck Pepto and Boyd Rice took reserve and $78,000 with 654 points, while Stylishnfancy and Zane Davis earned third and $58,000 with 653.5 points.

Sired by Smart Shiner and owned by Janiejill Tointon, Shiners Dun Juan is Bergen’s second Snaffle Bit Futurity champion mount. In 2001, he won the event aboard Boonlight Dancer for Vaughn Zimmerman. Bergen also earned $5,000 in Sunday’s Open Finals aboard The One Time, by One Time Pepto.

Boyd Rice
Moonstruck Pepto, by One Time Pepto, is owned by Cowan Select Horses.

Rice, a top cutting rider with over $2.5 million in NCHA competition, won the 2007 NRCHA Snaffle Bit Futurity aboard Oh Cay N Short. Moonstruck Pepto is his third Snaffle Bit Futurity reserve champion. He also placed second with Picka Patcha Pepto in 2009, and with Playin Attraction in 2005.

Rice showed two other Open Finalists on Sunday – Mamas Money Talks, who earned $35,000, and Sixes First Cat with $4,000.

Stylishnfancy, by Stylish Rey, is owned by Dallan Jeppesen. She was one of three horses rider Zane Davis qualified for the Open Finals, including Chickerey, who earned $15,000, and Diamond J Starlite with $12,000.

Davis won the Snaffle Bit Futurity in 2009 on Reymanator and claimed the 2011 Open Hackamore championship with 441.5 points on the 5-year-old gelded son of Dual Rey. Reymanator’s half-sister, Savannahboonsmal, by Peptoboonsmal, was the high-selling 2-year-old, for $125,000, at the 2010 NRCHA Futurity Sale.

Non-Pro champion

Anne Reynolds claimed a record seventh NRCHA Snaffle Bit Futurity Non-Pro championship Saturday, in Reno. The 640-point win aboard Smart Magic Trick earned Reynolds $17,480.

Reynolds won her first Snaffle Bit Futurity championship in 1998 on Smart Magic Trick’s dam, Magical Lena. Reynolds also owns Smart Magic Trick’s sire, Very Smart Remedy, also sire of her 2009 and 2010 champions, Shiney And Verysmart and Very Smart Playmate, respectively.

Reynolds’ other Non-Pro Snaffle Bit Futurity champions were Magical Lena (1998); More Magic Please (2005); and QR Powderific (2006).

Eric Freitas and One Time Nic, by One Tim Pepto, earned the Non-Pro Reserve championship and $13,110 with 636 points.

For complete results, click here.