Rachel Alexandra 2009 Horse of the Year

January 19th, 2010

Rachel Alexandra was named 2009 Horse of the Year at the 39th Eclispe Award ceremony, in Beverly Hills, CA. Undefeated Zenyatta, Rachel Alexandra’s rival for the award, was named top Older Female.

“Individually or collectively there was never a year like this for fillies,” said owner Jess Jackson, as he accepted the award for Rachel Alexandra, who became the first filly in 85 years to win the Preakness Stakes and the first ever to beat males in the Woodward Stakes at Saratoga.

“Zenyatta has never lost,” said owner Jerry Moss. “Nobody beat her on the racetrack. They beat her by proxy.” Zenyatta, who also received the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) ‘Moment of the Year’ Award for her unprecedented Breeders Cup Classic win over males, was also top Older Female in 2008.

Rachel Alexandra received 130 first-place votes out of 323, while Zenyatta received 99 (3 did not vote).

2009 Eclipse Awards:

Rachel Alexandra:  Horse of the Year and 3-Year-Old Female
Trainer: Steve Asmussen/Majority Owner: Stonestreet Farm

Zenyatta: Older Female
Trainer: John Sherriffs/Owner: Jerry and Ann Moss

Gio Ponti: Older Male and Male Turf Horse
Trainer: Christophe Clement/Owner: Castleton Lyons

Summer Bird: 3-Year-Old Male
Trainer: Tim Ice/Owners: K. and V. Jayaraman

Lookin At Lucky – 2-Year-Old Male
Trainer: Bob Baffert/Owner: Pegram/Watson/Weitman

She Be Wild: 2-Year-Old Female
Trainer: Wayne Catalano/Owners: Nancy and Michael Mazzoni

Kodiak Kowboy: Male Sprinter
Trainers: Larry Jones; Steve Asmussen/Owners: Fox Hill Farm; Vinery Stables

Informed Decision: Female Sprinter
Trainer: Jonathon Sheppard/Owner: Augustin Stable

Goldikova � Female Turf Horse
Trainer: Freddie Head/Owner: Gerard and Alain Wertheimer

Mixed Up � Steeplechase Horse
Trainer: Jonathon Sheppard/Owner: Bill Pape

Juddmonte Farms: Breeder
Owned by Khalid Abdullah

Godolphin Racing: Owner
Owned by Sheikh Mohammed

Julien Leparoux: Jockey
Winner of 3 Breeders Cup races

Steve Asmussen: Trainer
Single season record with 650 wins